Books

photoI have penned six management texts including the award-winning The Age of the Platform. Yeah.

This simple page provides synopses of each of them, as well as information about number seven, slated for February of 2015.


How to Navigate This Page

  • Click on each book’s title to “open and close” the snippet.
  • Click on each image to go to that book’s page and watch trailers and read book excerpts, related posts, and testimonials.
  • Books are listed by publication date in reverse chronological order.

Full-Length Books

Message Not Received: How New Technologies and Simpler Language Can Fix Your Business Communications
MNR_COVER_small My seventh book will examine how we communicate, use, and often misuse language and technology at work. It’s time for us to examine not only what we say, but how we say it. Wiley will be publishing it in February of 2015.


“It’s not going to suck. I promise.” –Phil Simon, completely biased party

The Visual Organization: Data Visualization, Big Data, and the Quest for Better Decisions
The-Visual-OrganizationProgressive organizations like eBay, Netflix, Wedgies, the University of Texas, and others are using interactive dataviz tools and Big Data to ask better questions and make business decisions. My sixth book explores how.

 


“Through a mix of analysis and synthesis, Simon demonstrates how it’s possible to see not only the forest, but the trees.”
–Brad Feld, Foundry Group Managing Director and co-author, Startup Life

Too Big to Ignore: The Business Case for Big Data
Too Big to IgnoreMy fifth book looks at the nascent trend of Big Data and explains why it’s such a big deal. In plain English, I describe the genesis and applications of Big Data. I detail a wide variety of ways in which intelligent organizations are using it today. It’s a jargon-free, very accessible text with more than 40 positive reviews on Amazon.

 


“In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell and Chris Anderson, Simon takes a complex topic and makes you think about it differently through real-world storytelling that resonates.”
–Jay Baer, author of Youtility: Why Smart Companies are Helping not Selling

The Age of the Platform: How Amazon, Apple, Facebook, and Google Have Redefined Business
The Age of the PlatformMy award-winning fourth book examines the most important business model in business today: the platform. I focus on how four companies have embraced platforms, ecosystems, APIs, and external development–and how they have achieved amazing results.

 


“Essential reading on the state of business today–and where it is going. Ignore this book at your own peril.”
–Adrian C. Ott, award-winning author, The 24-Hour Customer

The New Small: How a New Breed of Small Businesses Is Harnessing the Power of Emerging Technologies
My third book examines the ability of increasingly tech-savvy small businesses to do things that were simply impossible even five years ago. Through the course of 11 case studies, I demonstrate that small is the new big.

 


“A powerful, important, and eye-opening book. The New Small is a very big idea. Read it, but be warned: You may want to change your life once you’ve finished it.”
—Mitch Joel, President, Twist Image and author of Six Pixels of Separation

The Next Wave of Technologies: Opportunities in Chaos
My second book is about Enterprise 2.0. Organizations are finally getting with the times. That is, they are moving beyond simple e-mail, ERP, CRM, and BI stalwarts. They are finally adopting emerging enterprise technologies such as open-source software, SaaS, mobility, cloud computing, MDM, and others. My book serves as a primer on successfully navigating this new era.

 


“If you make a living in IT, you must read this book.”
—David Siegel, author of Pull: The Power of the Semantic Web

Why New Systems Fail: An Insider's Guide to Successful IT Projects
My first book provides an inside look at IT projects gone bad. Culled from the decade I spent implementing new enterprise systems, this no-holds-barred guide offers a great deal of advice on how minimize the chance of system failures.

 


“This book offers practical advice on why IT projects run late, over-budget, or do not achieve planned results. The framework is clear and the examples compelling, making this book a manifesto for success.”
—Michael Krigsman, ZDNet Blogger on IT Project Failures

Other Contributions

I served as the editor of–and a contributor to–the 2011 book 101 Lightbulb Moments in Data Management.

Click here to see my Amazon page. Or don’t. I really can’t make you.